2004 GCEP - GREF Student/Mentor Assignments
New GREF
Thesis Advisor
DOE Mentor
Anchukaitis, Kevin
University of Arizona
Lab. of Tree-Ring Research
105 West Stadium
Geosciences
Tucson, AZ  85721
Phone:  518-377-3414
Email: kanchuka@LTRR.arizona.edu
Michael Evans
University of Arizona
Lab. of Tree-Ring Research
105 West Stadium
Geosciences
Tucson, AZ  85721
Phone:  520-626-2897
Email:  mevans@trr.arizona.edu
Todd E. Dawson, Professor
Department of Integrative Biology
University of California, Berkeley
3060 Valley Life Sciences
Building #3140
Berkeley, CA  94720-3140
Phone:  510-642-6090
Email:  tdawson@socrates.berkeley.edu

Research Topic:  An stable isotope dendrochronology approach to reconstructing interannul and interdecadal tropical climate variability


Alvarez-Aviles, Laura
University of Alaska Fairbanks
P.O. Box 753302
Fairbanks, AK  99775-3302
Phone:  907-474-2436
Email:  ftla@uaf.edu
William R. Simpson
University of Alaska Fairbanks
P.O. Box 753302
Fairbanks, AK  99775-3302
Phone:  907-474-2436
Email: ffwrs@uaf.edu

James Cowin
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
PO Box 999 3200, Q Avenue,
Richland, WA 99352
Phone:  509-376-6330
Email:  jp.cowin@pnl.gov

Research Topic:  The chemistry of mercury deposition in the Arctic


Bratcher, Amy
Texas A&M University
Dept. of Oceanography, MS 3146
College Station, TX
Phone:   979-485-0980
Email:  amyb@ocean.tamu.edu
Dr. Nail Slowey
Texas A&M University
Dept. of Oceanography, MS 3146
College Station, TX
Phone:  979-845-1056

Tom Guilderson
Center for Accelerator Mass Spectrometry
UC/LLNL L-397
7000 East Avenue
Livermore, CA
Phone: 925-422-1753
Fax: 925-423-7884
Email: guilderson1@popeye.llnl.gov

Research Abstract

Co-Mentor

Dr. Karl Taylor
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
P.O. Box 808
Livermore, CA 94550 USA
Phone:  925-423-3623
Email:  ktaylor@llnl.gov

Research Topic:  Gulf of Mexico Corals as Monitors of Environmental Change.


Cleland, Elsa E.
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA  94305
Phone:  650-325-1521 x604
Email:  elsa.cleland@stanford.edu

Major: Biology

Harold A. Mooney
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA  94305
Phone:  650-725-1815
Email:  hamooney@stanford.edu

Chris B. Field
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Dept. of Global Ecology
260 Panama St.
Stanford, CA 94305
Email: chris@globalecology.stanford.edu

Robert B. Jackson
Duke University
Dept. of Biology and Nicholas School of the Environment
Box 90340, Phytotron Building
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-660-7408
Email: jackson@duke.edu

Research Topic:  Global Change and Plant-Soil-Microbial Nutrient Uptake Constrain Plant Growth Under Elevated CO2


Dutcher, Dabrina
Univ.  of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Dept.of Mechanical Engineering
4055 Blaisdell Avenue S.
Minneapolis, MN  55409
Phone:  612-824-4813
Email:  ddutcher@me.umn.edu

Major:  Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Peter H. McMurry
Univ.  of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Department of Mechanical Engineering
4055 Blaisdell Avenue S.
Minneapolis, MN  55409
Phone:  612-624-2817
Email:  McMurrry@me.umn.edu
Alla Zelenyuk
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Chemical Sciences Division
PO Box 999 3200,
Q Avenue
Richland, WA 99352
Email:  alla.zelenyuk@pnl.gov

Research Topic:  Aerosol Composition as a Function of Hygroscopicity Volatility and Density


Hokanson, Erin
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Madison, WI  53706
Phone:  309-781-6288
Email: ephokanson@wisc.edu
Zhengyu Liu
Center for Climatic Research of UW-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Madison, WI  53706
Phone:  608-262-0777
Email:  zliu3@facstaff.wisc.edu
Robert Jacob
Argonne National Laboratory
Mathematics and Computer Science Division
Building 203, C240
9700 S. Cass Ave
Argonne, IL  60439
Phone:  630 252-2983
Fax: 630 252-5986
Email:  jacob@mcs.anl.gov

Research Topic:  Remotely Sensed Biophysical Data and Fully Coupled General Circulation Models


Hollister, Emily
Texas A&M University
Rangeland Ecology and Management
College Station, TX
Phone:  979-764-0738
Email:  ehollister@tamu.edu
Dr. Thomas W. Boutton
Texas A&M University
Rangeland Ecology and Management
College Station, TX
Phone:  979-845-8027
Email:  boutton@tamu.edu
Dr. Anthony V. Palumbo
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
PO Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6038
Phone:  865-576-8002
Email:  palumboav@ornl.gov

Research Topic:  Land Use and Land Cover Changes in Temperate Savannas:  Impact of Fire on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Carbon Storage


Smith, Molly
University of California-Berkeley
Ecosystem Sciences Division
Berkeley, CA  94720
Phone:  510-644-1364
Email:  msmith@nature.berkeley.edu
Dr. John Harte
University of California-Berkeley
Ecosystem Sciences Division
Berkeley, CA  94720
Phone:  510-642-8553
Email:  jharte@socrates.berkeley.edu
Dr. R. Michael Miller
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division, Bldg. 203
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL  60439
Phone:  630-252-3395
Email:  rmmiller@anl.gov

Research Topic:  Indirect effects of climate change:  the importance of plant species loss and increased nitrogen availability in a subalpine meadow ecosystem


Watson, Anthony
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Crop Sciences
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-548-2059
Email: adwatson@uiuc.edu
Dr. Stephen Long
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Crop Sciences
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone:  217-333-2487
Email:  stevel@life.uiuc.edu

Dr. Alistair Rogers
Brookhaven National Laboratory
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973
Phone: 631-344-2948
Email: arogers@bnl.gov

Dr. Gerald Tuskan
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
PO Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6038
Phone: 865-576-8141
Email: tuskanga@ornl.gov

Research Topic:  cDNA Microarray Analysis of Soybean Grown Under Elevated O3 and CO2 Concentration


GREF Renewal

Allison, Steven
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA 94302
Phone: 650-497-4449
Email: steall@stanford.edu

Dr. Peter M. Vitousek
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA 94302
Phone: 650-725-1866
Email:  vitousek@stanford.edu

Dr. Julie Jastrow
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL  60439
Phone:  630-252-3226
Email:  jdjastrow@anl.gov

Research Topic:  Microbial Enzyme Effects on Soil Carbon and Nutrient Turnover


Case, Anne
Georgia Tech Institute
Earth & Atmos. Sciences
311 Ferst Drive
Atlanta, GA 30332-0340
Phone:  404-894-5638
Email:  acase@eas.gatech.edu
Dr. David Tan
Georgia Tech Institute
Env. Sci. & Tech. Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30332
Phone: 404-385-1821
Fax: 404-894-6670
Email: dtan@eas.gatech.edu
Dr. Nancy A. Marley
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439               
Phone: 630-252-7415
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: namarley@anl.gov

Research Topic: Detection of Formaldehyde by Laser-Induced Fluorescence


Drake, Allison
University of Arizona
Dept. of Geosciences
Gould-Simpson Building
1040 E. Fourth St.
Tucson, AZ 85721-0077
Phone: 520-490-0852
Email: adrake@geo.arizona.edu
Dr. Jonathan Overpeck
University of Arizona
Dept. of Geosciences
Gould-Simpson Building
1040 E. Fourth St.
Tucson, AZ 85721-0077
Phone 520-622-9065
Email: jto@u.arizona.edu

Dr. Randy G. Balice
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM  87545
Phone: 505-665-1270
Email: balice@lanl.gov

Research Topic:  Impacts of Wildfire and Climate Patterns on the Vegetation Dynamics of Grasslands in the Southwest United States


Fraterrigo, Jennifer
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Zoology
Birge Hall, 430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone:  515-292-5528
Email:  jmfrater@iastate.edu
Monica G. Turner
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Zoology
Birge Hall, 430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-262-2592
Email: mgt@mhub.zoology.wisc.edu
Wilfred M. Post
Environmental Sciences Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
P.O. Box 2008, Bldg. 1509
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6335
Phone: 865-5576-3431
Fax: 865-574-2232
Email: wmp@ornl.gov

Research Topic: The Influence of Land-Use and Climate Change on the Long-Term Persistence of Forest Understory Herbs


Martinez-Aviles, Monica
Purdue University
Dept. of Chemistry
560 Oval Drive, Box #610
West Lafayette, IN  47907-2084
Phone:  705-532-1988
Email: monmart@purdue.edu
Dr. J.S. Francisco
Purdue University
Dept. of Chemistry
560 Oval Drive, Box #610
West Lafayette, IN  47907-2084
Phone:  765-494-5244
Email: jfrancis@purdue.edu
Dr. David A. Dixon
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
PO Box 999 3200 Q Ave.
Richland, WA  99352
Phone: 509-372-4999
Email: david.dixon@pnl.gov

Research Topic: A Study of Kinetics and Mechanisms Involved in the Atmospheric Degradation of Bromopropane and its By-products


Williams, Brent
Univ. of California - Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Ecosystem Science Division
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA  94703
Phone: 510-540-8702
Email: brentw@nature.berkeley.edu

Allen H. Goldstein, Ph.D
Univ. of California - Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Ecosystem Science Division
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA  94703
Phone: 510-643-2451
Email: ahg@nature.berkeley.edu

Tica Novakov, Ph.D
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Dept. of Environmental Energy Technologies, MS-73
One Cyclotron Road, M/S 90-1116
Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone: 510-486-5314
Fax: 510-486-4733
Email: tnovakov@lbl.gov

Research Topic: New In-Situ Instrumentation for Speciated Organic Composition of Atmospheric Aerosols


Wittig, Victoria
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
265 Morrill Hall
505 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-384-3988
Email: wittig@life.uiuc.edu

Professor Stephen P. Long
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
265 Morrill Hall
505 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-333-2487
Email: stevel@life.uiuc.edu

 

Research Topic: Modeling the Impacts of Tropospheric Ozone on a Forest Ecosystem Grown to Camopy Closure under Elevated Carbon Dioxide and Ozone


GREF Extension
Busch, Christopher
Dept. of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Goldman School of Public Policy
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310
Phone:  212-866-4056
Email:  busch@are.berkeley.edu
Prof. Michael Hanemann
Dept. of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Goldman School of Public Policy
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310   
Phone: 510-642-2670          E-mail:  hanemann@are.berkeley.edu
Dr. Jayant A. Sathaye
Senior Staff Scientist and International Energy Studies Group Leader
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Phone: Phone: 510-486-6294
Email: jasathaye@lbl.gov

Research Topic: Modeling Past and Forecasting Future Deforestation in the Southern Yucatan Peninsula Region of Mexico as a Basis for Ex-Ante Estimation of Reduced Greenhouse Gas Emissions Expected Due to the Nature Conservancy’s Calakmul Biosphere Project


Dahl, Elizabeth
Univ. of California, Irvine
Dept. of Earth Science
220 Rowland Hall
Irvine, CA 92697
Phone: 949-509-1206
Email: edahl@uci.edu

Dr. Eric Saltzman
Univ. of California, Irvine
Dept. of Earth Science
220 Rowland Hall
Irvine, CA 92697
Phone: 949-824-3936
Email:  esaltzma@uci.edu
Dr. Steve Colson
Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
PO Box 999
3335 Q. Avenue
Richland, WA 99352
Phone: 509-376-4598
Phone: 509-376-0846
Email: sd_colson@pnl.gov

Research Topic: Aqueous Phase Production of Low Molecular Weight Alkyl Nitrates


Lee, Anita
University of CA, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Berkeley, CA 94720 — 3110
Phone:  510-548-4693
Email:  alee@nature.berkeley.edu
Prof. Allen Goldstein
University of CA, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Berkeley, CA 94720 — 3110 Phone: 510-643-2451
Email: ahg@nature@berkeley.edu
Dr. Jeffrey Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-5178
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: gaffney@anl.gov

Research Topic: Ecosystem scale monoterpene emissions: Implications for secondary organic aerosol formation


Pederson, Neil
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observation Tree Ring Lab
P.O. Box 1000
61 route 9-W
Palisades, NY  10964
Phone:  845-398-1608
Email:  adk@ldeo.columbia.edu
Gordon C. Jacoby
Tree-Ring Laboratory
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
Phone: 845-365-8616
Email: druid@ldeo.columbia.edu
Steven C. Wofsy
Pierce Hall 100-A
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
Harvard Forest Environmental Measurement Site & NIGEC
Phone: 617-495-4556
Email: scw@io.harvard.edu

Research Topic: An Experimental Study to Explore the Relationship of Ecosystem Carbon Uptake Eddy-Flux Measurements and Tree Growth: A Tree-Ring analysis Approach


Marin-Spiotta, Erika
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall-
Department ESPM
Berkeley, CA  94720-3110
Phone:  510-932-4771
Email:  aurios@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Whendee L. Silver
Ecosystems Sciences Division
Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94729-3110 Phone: 510-643-3074
Email: wsilver@nature.berkeley.edu
Dr. Margaret Torn
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
One Cyclotron Road
Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone: 510-495-2223
Email: mstorn@lbl.gov

Research Topic: Mechanisms of Soil Carbon Stabilization with Reforestation of Tropical Pastures


Randles, Cynthia
Princeton University
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
257 Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone:  903-984-9258
Email:  crandles@princeton.edu
Dr. V. Ramaswamy
Princeton University
Atmospheric/Oceanic Sciences
257 Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: 609-452-6510
Fax: 609-987-5063
Email: vr@gfdl.noaa.gov

and

Dr. Lynn M. Russell
Princeton University
Dept. of Chemical Engineering
A317 Engineering Quadrangle
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: 609-258-1144
Email: jrussell@princeton.edu

Dr. Steven E. Schwartz
Environmental Chemistry Division
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E (75 Rutherford Dr.)
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
Phone: 516-344-3100
Fax: 516-344-2887
Email: ses@bnl.gov

Research Topic: Atmospheric Radiation Measurement: The Effects of Aerosols and Clouds on Climate


 
 

The Global Change Education Program is funded by the
U.S. Department of Energy

Office of Biological and Environmental Research