2002 GCEP - GREF Student/Mentor Assignments
First Year Fellows
Thesis Advisor
DOE Mentor

Allison, Steven
Stanford University
28F Escondido Village
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650-497-4449
steveall@stanford.edu

Dr. Peter M. Vitousek
Stanford University
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650-725-1866
vitousek@stanford.edu

Dr. Julie Jastrow
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-3226
Fax: 630-252-8895
jdjastrow@anl.gov

Research Topic:  Microbial Enzyme Effects on Soil Carbon and Nutrient Turnover


Case, Anne
Georgia Institute of Technology
College of Sciences
221 Bobby Dodd Way
Atlanta, GA 30332-0340
Phone: 404-894-3893
Fax: 404-894-5638
atcase_@hotmail.com

 

Dr. David Tan
Georgia Institute of Technology
Baker Building, Room 107
925 Dalney Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30332
Phone: 404-385-1821
Fax: 404-894-6670
dtan@eas.gatech.edu

Dr. Nancy A. Marley
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-5014
Fax: 630-252-7415
namarley@anl.gov

Research Topic: Detection of Formaldehyde by Laser-Induced Fluorescence


Cleland, Elsa
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford CA 94305
415-585-9295
elsa.cleland@stanford.edu

Harold Mooney
Stanford University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA 94305
650-725-1815
hamooney@stanford.edu

Chris Field
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Department of Plant Biology
260 Panama Street
Stanford, CA 94305
chris@jasper.stanford.edu

Robert B. Jackson
Duke University
Dept. of Biology and Nicholas School of the Environment
Box 90340, Phytotron Building
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-7408
jackson@duke.edu

 

Research Topic: Global Change and Plant-Soil-Microbial Interactions; Does Microbial Nutrient Uptake Constrin Plant Growth Under Elevated CO2?


Fraterrigo, Jennifer
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Zoology
Birge Hall, 430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
608-262-2592
jmfrater@students.wisc.edu

Monica G. Turner
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Zoology
Birge Hall, 430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
608-262-2592
mgt@mhub.zoology.wisc.edu

Wilfred M. Post
Environmental Sciences Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
865-576-3431
wmp@ornl.gov

Research Topic: The Influence of Land-Use and Climate Change on the Long-Term Persistence of Forest Understory Herbs


Hastings (Galanter), Meredith
219-C Marshall Avenue
Princeton, NJ 08540
609-921-7808
mhasting@princeton.edu

Dr. Daniel M. Sigman
Department of Geological Sciences
Guyot Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544
609-258-2194
sigman@princeton.edu

Dr. Gregory R. Carmichael
Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research
University of Iowa
319-335-3332
gcarmich@engineering.uiowa.edu

Research Topic: Construction and Interpretation of the Ice Core Record of Nitrate at Greenland Using Stable Isotopes of Nitrogen and Oxygen


Lee, Anita
Univ. of California, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Berkeley, CA 94720 — 3110
Phone: 510-548-4693
alle@nature.berkeley.edu

Prof. Allen Goldstein
University of CA, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Berkeley, CA 94720 — 3110
Phone: 510-643-2451
ahg@nature@berkeley.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-5178
Fax: 630-252-7415
gaffney@anl.gov

Research Topic: Ecosystem scale monoterpene emissions: Implications for secondary organic aerosol formation


Ravelo, Rose
Purdue University
Young Graduate House
Rm. 948-1
West Lafayette, IN 47906
775-495-6720
rose_ravelo@excite.com

Dr. Paul B. Shepson
Purdue University
Dept. of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
West Lafayette, IN 47906
765-494-7441
pshepson@purdue.edu

Dr. Paul V. Doskey
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-7662
Fax: 630-252-5498
pvdoskey@anl.gov

Research Topic: Development of a Small Aircraft Biogenic VOC Flux Measurement System


2nd Year Fellows

Thesis Advisor

DOE Mentor

 

Bialk, Heidi
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Environmental Toxicology Center
290 Enzyme Institute
1710 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-270-0491
opuscomplex@hotmail.com
Dr. Will Bleam
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Environmental Toxicology Center
290 Enzyme Institute
1710 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-262-9956
wfbleam@facstaff.wisc.edu
Dr. Mike Miller
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-3395
Fax: 630-252-8895
rmmiller@anl.gov

Research Topic: An Analysis of Carbon Sequestration by Measure of Cellulose and Lignin in Northern Wisconsin Wetlands with X-ray Absorption Near Edge Spectroscopy (XANES)


Busch, Christopher
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310
Phone: 510-643-5606
busch@are.berkeley.edu

Prof. Michael Hanemann
Dept. of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Goldman School of Public Policy
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310
Phone: 510-642-2670
hanemann@are.berkeley.edu

Dr. Jayant A. Sathaye
Senior Staff Scientist and International Energy Studies Group Leader
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Phone: 510-486-6294
jasathaye@lbl.gov

Research Topic: Modeling Past and Forecasting Future Deforestation in the Southern Yucatan Peninsula Region of Mexico as a Basis for Ex-Ante Estimation of Reduced Greenhouse Gas Emissions Expected Due to the Nature Conservancy’s Calakmul Biosphere Project


Liao, Julia
Texas A&M University
Rangeland Ecology & Management
College Station, TX 77843-2126
Phone: 979-845-0302
jliao@rlem.tamu.edu

Dr. Thomas W. Boutton
Texas A&M University
Department of Rangeland Ecology and Management Campus M. S. 2126
College Station, TX 77843-2126
Phone: 979-845-8027
boutton@acs.tamu.edu

Dr. Julie Jastrow
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-3225
Fax: 630-252-8895
jdjastrow@anl.gov

Research Topic: Soil Carbon Processes and Vegetation Dynamics in Semiarid Ecosystems


Marin-Spiotta, Erika
Ecosystems Sciences Division
Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94729-3110
Phone: 510-649-9652
aurios@nature.berkeley.edu

Professor Whendee L. Silver
Ecosystems Sciences Division
Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94729-3110
Phone: 510-643-3074
wsilver@nature.berkeley.edu

Dr. Margaret Torn
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
510-495-2223
mstorn@lbl.gov

Research Topic: Mechanisms of Soil Carbon Stabilization with Reforestation of Tropical Pastures


Pederson, Neil
Tree-Ring Laboratory
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
Phone: 845-365-8783
adk@ldeo.columbia.edu

Gordon C. Jacoby
Tree-Ring Laboratory
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
Phone: 845-365-8616
druid@ldeo.columbia.edu

Steven C. Wofsy
Pierce Hall 100-A
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
Harvard Forest Environmental Measurement Site & NIGEC
Phone: 617-495-4556
scw@io.harvard.edu

Research Topic: An Experimental Study to Explore the Relationship of Ecosystem Carbon Uptake Eddy-Flux Measurements and Tree Growth: A Tree-Ring analysis Approach


Randles, Cynthia
Princeton University
Geosciences/Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
The Graduate College
88 College Road West
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: 201-286-2108
crandles@princeton.edu

Dr. V. Ramaswamy
Princeton University
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
257 Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: 609-452-6510
Fax: 609-987-5063
vr@gfdl.noaa.gov

Dr. Lynn M. Russell
Princeton University
Department of Chemical Engineering
A317 Engineering Quadrangle
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: 609-258-1144
jrussell@princeton.edu

Dr. Steven E. Schwartz
Environmental Chemistry Division
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E (75 Rutherford Dr.)
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
Phone: 516-344-3100
Fax: 516-344-2887
ses@bnl.gov

Web Page: http://www.ecd.bnl.gov/steve/schwartz.html

Research Topic: Atmospheric Radiation Measurement: The Effects of Aerosols and Clouds on Climate


3rd Year Fellows

Thesis Advisor

DOE Mentor

 

Ainsworth, Elizabeth
University of Illinois
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-384-5028 (Home)
217-244-6317 (Work)
ainsworth@uiuc.edu
Professor Stephen Long
College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
University of Illinois
379 Edward R. Madigan Laboratory
1201 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-2487
Steve1@life.uiuc.edu
Alistair Rogers
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Division of Applied Science
516-344-2948
arogers@bnl.gov

George Hendrey
Brookhaven National Laboratory
516-344-3262
hendrey@bnl.gov

Research Topic: Intra-specific and intra-plant variation in acclimation of photosynthesis to rising atmospheric carbon dioxide concentration


Farmer, Christina
Columbia University
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
205 Geoscience
P.O. Box 1000, Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-1000
914-365-8814
914-365-8165 FAX
christa@ldeo.columbia.edu

Peter deMenocal
Columbia University
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
205 Geoscience
P.O. Box 1000, Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-8000
914-365-8483
peter@ldeo.columbia.edu

Klaus S. Lackner
Los Alamos National Laboratory
MS A127 ALDSSR
Assoc. Lab Director Strategic & Supp Research
Los Alamos, New Mexico 87545
505-667-5694
505-667-5450 FAX
ksl@lanl.gov

Research Topic: Climate sensitivity, past and future: GCM response to Last Glacial Maximum oceanic heat transport and possible carbon emission management strategies


Grumet, Nancy
Stanford University
Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences
Building 320, Braun Hall
Stanford, CA 94305
650-322-2720
ngrumet@leland.stanford.edu

Dr. Robert Dunbar
Stanford University
Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences
Building 320, Braun Hall
Stanford, CA 94305
650-725-6830
dunbar@stanford.edu

Philip B. Duffy
Climate System Modeling Group
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
L-103, P. O. Box 808
Livermore, Ca., 94550 USA
925-422-3722
925-422-6388 FAX
pduffy@lnl.gov

Research Topic: Multitracer Geochemical Record of Climate Change from the Coast of Kenya


Mastrandrea, Michael
Stanford University
P.O. Box 17624
Stanford, CA 94309
650-497-1740
mikemas@stanford.edu

Professor Stephen H. Schneider
Graduate Mentor
Stanford University
650-725-9978
shs@stanford.edu

Philip B. Duffy
Climate System Modeling Group
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
L-103, P. O. Box 808
Livermore, Ca., 94550 USA
925-422-3722
925-422-6388 FAX
pduffy@lnl.gov

Research Topic: Incorporating Non-Linear Climatic Behavior into an Integrated Assessment Framework


Pett-Ridge, Jennifer
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall — 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
510-642-6847
jeffiner@nature.berkeley.edu

Dr. Mary K. Firestone
University of California, Berkeley
Department of Environmental Science Policy and Management
Ecosystem Science Division
151 Hilgard Hall - 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
510-642-3677
mkfstone@nature.berkeley.edu

Jim Ehleringer
Department of Biology
University of Utah
257 S 1400 E
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112
801-581-7623
801-581-4665 FAX
ehleringer@biology.utah.edu

Web Page: http://ecophys.biology.utah.edu

Research Topic: Climate control on microbial community dynamics: the role of soil oxygen in carbon and nitrogen biogeochemistry


Price, Heather
University of Washington
Department of Chemistry
UW, Box 351700
Seattle, WA 98125-1700
206-365-1593
hprice@u.washington.edu

Daniel Jaffe
University of Washington
Department of Chemistry
UW, Box 351700
Seattle, WA 98125-1700
425-352-5357
djaffe@u.washington.edu

Paul Doskey
Environmental Research Division, Bldg. 203
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-7662
630-252-5498 FAX
pvdoskey@anl.gov

Research Topic: Determination of Asian air pollution sources, seasonality, and chemical processing during transport to the Northwest continental United States.


Winiecki, Shelby
University of Chicago
Department of Geophysical Sciences
5734 S. Ellis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1434
773-702-2930 Office
773-702-9505 Office FAX
Shelby@midway.uchicago.edu

Dr. John Frederick
University of Chicago
Department of Geophysical Sciences
5734 S. Ellis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1434
773-702-3237
Frederic@uchicago.edu

Dr. William M. Porch
MS D407
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
505-667-0971
505-667-9122 FAX
wporch@lanl.gov

Research Topic: Solar Irradiance in the UV-B Region as Influenced by Ozone and Particulate Abundances in an Urban Atmosphere


Extensions Thesis Advisor DOE Mentor
Clements, Craig B.
Department of Geography University of British Columbia
1984 West Mall
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
V6T 1Z2
cbclemen@geog.ubc.ca
Dr. Ian G. McKendry
Department of Geography University of British Columbia
1984 West Mall
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
V6T 1Z2
604-822-4929
604-822-6150 FAX
ian@geog.ubc.ca
Dr. C. David Whiteman
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999, MSK9-30
Richland, WA 99352
509/372-6147
dave.whiteman@pnl.gov

Research Topic: The Role of Slope Flows on the Evolution of Cold Air Pools in Basins


Dahl, Elizabeth
University of California at Irvine
Department of Earth Science 220 Rowland Hall
Irvine, CA 92697
949-509-1206
edahl@uci.edu

Dr. Eric Saltzman
University of California at Irvine
Department of Earth Science 220 Rowland Hall
Irvine, CA 92697
949-824-3936
esaltzma@uci.edu

 

Dr. Steven D. Colson
Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
333S Q. Avenue
Richland, WA 99352
509-376-4598
509-376-0846
sd_colson@pnl.gov

Research Topic: Aqueous Phase Production of Low Molecular Weight Alkyl Nitrates


Gordon, Wendy
University of Texas at Austin
Botany Department
Austin, TX 78712
512-475-7851
wgordon@mail.utexas.edu

Dr. James S. Famiglietti
Dept. of Geological Sciences
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712
512-471-3824
jsf@mail.utexas.edu

Howard Hanson
Los Alamos National Laboratory
EES-8
Atmospheric and Climate Sciences
P.O. Box 1663
Los Alamos, NM 87545
505 665-4502
hph@lanl.gov

Research Topic: Role of the Hydrologic Cycle in Vegetation Response to Climate Change: An Analysis Using VEMAP Phase 2 Model Experiments


Higgins, Paul
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
phiggins@stanford.edu

Dr. Stephen Schneider
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
650-725-9978
shs@leland.stanford.edu

Steven E. Schwartz
Environmental Chemistry Division
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E (75 Rutherford Dr.)
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
516-344-3100
516-344-2887 FAX
ses@bnl.gov

Web Page: http://www.ecd.bnl.gov/steve/schwartz.html

Research Topic: An Illustrative Integrated Assessment Model of Climate Surprises: Thermohaline Circulation and Ecosystem Structure and Function


Kueppers, Lara
University of California at Berkeley
Division of Ecosystems Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall - 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110

Dr. John Harte
University of California, Berkeley
Energy and Resources Group and Department of Environ-mental Science, Policy and Management
151 Hilgard Hall - 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
510-642-8553
jharte@ocrates.berkeley.edu

Dr. Inez Fung
Director
Center for Atmospheric Sciences
307 Mc Cone Hall #4767
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-4767
510-643-9367
ifung@uclink4.berkeley.edu

 

Research Topic: Climate and plant community controls on forest soil carbon stocks and fluxes


Millet, Dylan
University of California at Berkeley
147 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
510-883-0694
dylan@atmos.berkeley.edu

Dr. Allen H. Goldstein
Assistant Professor
University of California at Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy, & Management
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
510-643-2451 (office)
510-643-2460 (lab)
510-643-5098 FAX
ahg@nature.berkeley.edu

Dr. Jeffrey S. Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-5178
630-252-7415 FAX
gaffney@anl.gov

 

Research Topic: An Isotopic Mass Balance Approach for Constraining the Atmospheric Methyl Chloride Budget


Schoennagel, Tania
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Botany Department
430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
608-262-2791
tschoenn@students.wisc.edu

Monica G. Turner
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Department of Zoology
430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
608-262-2592
mgt@macc.wisc.edu

Virginia H. Dale
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
PO Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6038
865-576-8043
dalevh@ornl.gov

Research Topic: Effects of Climatically Altered Fire Regimes on Successional Patterns and Carbon Storage


 
 

The Global Change Education Program is funded by the
U.S. Department of Energy

Office of Biological and Environmental Research