2001 GCEP - GREF Student/Mentor Assignments
New GREF
Thesis Advisor
DOE Mentor

Bialk, Heidi
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Environmental Toxicology Center
290 Enzyme Institute
1710 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-270-0491
Email: opuscomplex@hotmail.com

Dr. Will Bleam
Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Environmental Toxicology Center
290 Enzyme Institute
1710 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-262-9956
Email: wfbleam@facstaff.wisc.edu

 

Dr. Mike Miller
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-3395
Email: rmmiller@anl.gov

Research Topic:   An Analysis of Carbon Sequestration by Measure of Cellulose and Lignin in Northern Wisconsin Wetlands with X-ray Absorption Near Edge Spectroscopy (XANES)


Busch, Christopher
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310
Phone: 510-643-5606
Email: busch@ARE.Berkeley.EDU
Prof. Michael Hanemann
Dept. of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Goldman School of Public Policy
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
University of CA, Berkeley
307 Giannini Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3310
Phone: 510-642-2670
Email: hanemann@are.berkeley.edu
Dr. Jayant A. Sathaye
Senior Staff Scientist and International Energy Studies Group Leader
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Phone: 510-486-6294
Email: jasathaye@lbl.gov

Research Topic:  Modeling Past and Forecasting Future Deforestation in the Southern Yucatan Peninsula Region of Mexico as a Basis for Ex-ante Estimation of Reduced Greenhouse Gas Emissions Expected Due to the Nature Conservancy’s Calakmul Biosphere Project


Lee, Anita
Univ. of California, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Bekeley, CA 94720 — 3110
Phone: 510-548-4693
Email: alle@nature.berkeley.edu
Prof. Allen Goldsten
University of CA, Berkeley
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Bekeley, CA 94720 — 3110
Phone: 510-643-2451
Email: ahg@nature@berkeley.edu
Dr. Jeffrey Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-5178
Email: gaffney@anl.gov

Research Topic:  Ecosystem scale monoterpene emissions: Implications for secondary organic aerosol formation


Liao, Julia
Texas A&M University
Rangeland Ecology & Management
College Station, TX 77843-2126
Phone: 979-845-0302
Email: jliao@rlem.tamu.edu
Dr. Thomas W. Boutton
Texas A&M University
Department of Rangeland Ecology and Management Campus Mailstop 2126
College Station, TX 77843-2126
Phone: 979-845-8027
Email: boutton@acs.tamu.edu
Dr. Julie Jastrow
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-3225
Email: jdjastrow@anl.gov

Research Topic:  Soil Carbon Processes and Vegetation Dynamics in Semiarid Ecosystems


Marin-Spiotta, Erika
Ecosystems Sciences Division
Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94729-3110
Phone: 510-649-9652
Email: aurios@nature.berkeley.edu
Professor Whendee L. Silver
Ecosystems Sciences Division
Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Univ. of California, Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94729-3110
Phone: 510-643-3074
Email: wsilver@nature.berkeley.edu
Dr. Margaret Torn
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
510-495-2223
Email: mstorn@lbl.gov

Research Topic:  Mechanisms of Soil Carbon Stabilization with Reforestation of Tropical Pastures


Pederson, Neil
Tree-Ring Laboratory
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
Phone: 845-365-8783
Email: adk@ldeo.columbia.edu
Gordon C. Jacoby
Tree-Ring Laboratory
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
Phone: 845-365-8616
Email: druid@ldeo.columbia.edu
Steven C. Wofsy
Pierce Hall 100-A
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
Harvard Forest Environmental Measureemnt Site & NIGEC
Phone: 617-495-4556
Email: scw@io.harvard.edu

Research Topic:  An Experimental Study to Explore the Relationship of Ecosystem Carbon Uptake Eddy-Flux Measurements and Tree Growth: A Tree-Ring analysis Approach


Randles, Cynthia
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone: 903-984-9258
Email: cynema@alum.mit.edu

Dr. Venkatachalam Ramaswamy
Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Lab/ Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
257 GFDL
Princeton University
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
Phone: 609-452-6510
Fax: 609-987-5063
Email: vr@gfdl.gov

Dr. Steven E. Schwartz
Environmental Chemistry Division
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E (75 Rutherford Dr.)
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
Phone: 516-344-3100
Fax: 516-344-2887
Email: ses@bnl.gov
Webpage: http://www.ecd.bnl.gov/steve/schwartz.html

Research Topic:  Atmospheric Radiation Measurement: The Effects of Aerosols and Clouds on Climate


Renewal GREF
Thesis Advisor
DOE Mentor

Ainsworth, Elizabeth
University of Illinois
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: 217- 384-5028 (Home)
217-244-6317 (Work)
Email: ainsworth@uiuc.edu
Professor Stephon Long
College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences,
University of Illinois
379 Edward R. Madigan Laboratory
1201 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-333-2487
Email: Steve1@life.uiuc.edu
Alistair Rogers
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Division of Applied Science
Phone: 516-344-2948
Email: arogers@bnl.gov

George Hendrey
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Phone: 516-344-3262
Email: hendrey@bnl.gov

Research Topic:  Intra-specific and intra-plant variation in acclimation of photosynthesis to rising atmospheric carbon dioxide concentration


Clements, Craig B.
University of Utah
Department of Meteorology
WBB 819
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-585-1411
Email: cbclemen@met.utah.edu
Dr. John Horel
NOAA Cooperative Institute for Regional Prediction
University of Utah
Department of Meteorology
135 S. 1460 East, Rm. 819
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-7091
Dr. C. David Whiteman
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999, MSK9-30
Richland, WA 99352
Phone: 509-372-6147
Email: dave.whiteman@pnl.gov

Research Topic:  The Role of Slope Flows on the Evolution of Cold Air Pools in Basins.


Dahl, Elizabeth
University of Miami
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Chemistry
Marine and Atmospheric Chemistry Division
4600 Rickenback Causeway
Miami, FL 33149
Phone: 703-306-1522
Dr. Eric Saltzman
University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Division of Marine and Atmospheric Chemistry
Phone: 703-302-1522
Email: esaltzma@nsf.gov
Steven D. Colson
Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
333S Q. Avenue
Richland, WA 99352
Phone: 509-376-4598
Fax: 509-376-0846
Email: sd_colson@pnl.gov

Research Topic:  Aqueous Phase Production of Low Molecular Weight Alkyl Nitrates.


Farmer, Christina
Columbia University
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
205 Geoscience
P.O. Box 8000, Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-1000
Phone: 914-365-8814
Fax: 914-365-8165
Email: christa@ldeo.columbia.edu

Peter deMenocal
Columbia University
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
205 Geoscience
P.O. Box 1000, Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-8000
Phone: 914-365-8483
Email: peter@ldeo.columbia.edu

Klaus S. Lackner
Los Alamos National Laboratory
MS A127 ALDSSR
Assoc. Lab Director Strategic & Supp Research
Los Alamos, New Mexico 87545
Phone: 505-667-5694
Fax: 505-667-5450
Email: ksl@lanl.gov

Research Topic:  Climate sensitivity, past and future: GCM response to Last Glacial Maximum oceanic heat transport and possible carbon emission management strategies.


Gilman, Sarah
University of California – Davis
Evolution and Ecology
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: 530/752-2937
Email: segilman@ucdavis.edu
Dr. Richard K. Grosberg
University of California, Davis
Evolution and Ecology
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: 530/752-2937
Email: rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu
Dr. Thomas H. Suchanek
Director, WESTGEC
Department of Environmental Science & Policy
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (530) 752-7300
Email: thsuchanek@ucdavis.edu

Research Topic:  The Effect of Climate on the Geographic Distribution of a Marine Snail.


Gordon, Wendy
The University of Texas at Austin
Botany Department
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: 512/475-7851
Email: wgordon@mail.utexas.edu
James S. Famiglietti
Deept. Of Geological Sciences
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: 512-471-3824
Email: jsf@mail.utexas.edu
Howard Hanson
Los Alamos National Laboratory
EES-8 : Atmospheric and Climate Sciences
P.O. Box 1663
Los Alamos, NM 87545
Phone: 505 665- 4502
Email: hph@lanl.gov

Research Topic:  Role of the Hydrologic Cycle in Vegetation Response to Climate Change: An Analysis Using VEMAP Phase 2 Model Experiments .


Grumet, Nancy
Department of Geologocial and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 650-322-2720
Email: ngrumet@leland.stanford.edu
Dr. Robert Dunbar
Stanford University
Phone: 650-725-6830
Email: dunbar@stanford.edu
Philip B. Duffy
Climate System Modeling Group
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
L-103, P. O. Box 808
Livermore, Ca., 94550 USA
Phone: 925-422-3722
Fax: 925-422-6388
Email: pduffy@llnl.gov

Research Topic: Multitracer Geochemical Record of Climate Change from the Coast of Kenya.


Higgins, Paul
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Email: phiggins@stanford.edu
Dr. Stephen Schneider
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650-725-9978
Email: shs@leland.stanford.edu

Steven E. Schwartz
Environmental Chemistry Division
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E (75 Rutherford Dr.)
P.O. Box 5000
Upton, NY 11973-5000
Phone: 516-344-3100
Fax: 516-344-2887
Email: ses@bnl.gov
Webpage: http://www.ecd.bnl.gov/steve/schwartz.html

Research Topic:  An Illustrative Integrated Assessment Model of Climate Surprises: Thermohaline Circulation and Ecosystem Structure and Function.


Kueppers, Lara
University of California , Berkeley
Division of Ecosystems Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall – 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Dr. John Harte
University of California, Berkeley
Energy and Resources Group and Department
of Environmental Science, Policy and Management
151 Hilgard Hall 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Phone: 510/642-8553
Email: jharte@ocrates.berkeley.edu
Dr. Inez Fung
Director
Center for Atmospheric Sciences
307 McCone Hall #4767
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-4767
Phone: 510-643-9367
Email: ifung@uclink4.berkeley.edu

Research Topic:  Climate and plant community controls on forest soil carbon stocks and fluxes.


Mastrandrea, Michael
Stanford University
P.O. Box 17624
Stanford, CA 94309
Phone: 650-497-1740
Email: mikemas@stanford.edu
Professor Stephen H. Schneider
Graduate Mentor
Stanford University
Phone: 650-725-9978
Email: shs@stanford.edu

Philip B. Duffy
Climate System Modeling Group
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
L-103, P. O. Box 808
Livermore, Ca., 94550 USA
Phone: 925-422-3722
Fax: 925-422-6388
Email: pduffy@llnl.gov

Research Topic: Incorporating Non-Linear Climatic Behavior into an Integrated Assessment Framework.


Millet, Dylan
University of California, Berkeley 147 Hilgard Hall
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Phone: 510-883-0694
Email:dylan@atmos.berkeley.edu
Allen H. Goldstein, Assistant Professor
University of California at Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy, & Management
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Phone: 510-643-2451 (office)
Phone: 510-643-2460 (lab)
Fax: 510-643-5098
Email:ahg@nature.berkeley.edu
Jeffrey S. Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-5178
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: gaffney@anl.gov

Research Topic: An Isotopic Mass Balance Approach for Constraining the Atmospheric Methyl Chloride Budget.


Pett-Ridge, Jennifer
Division of Ecosystem Sciences
151 Hilgard Hall — 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Phone: 510-642-6847
Email:jeffiner@nature.berkeley.edu
Dr. Mary K. Firestone
University of California, Berkeley
Department of Environmental Science Policy and Management
Ecosystem Science Division
151 Hilgard Hall - 3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110
Phone: 510-642-3677
Email: mkfstone@nature.berkeley.edu
Jim Ehleringer
Department of Biology
University of Utah
257 S 1400 E
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112
Phone: 801-581-7623
Fax: 801-581-4665
Email: ehleringer@biology.utah.edu
Web page: http://ecophys.biology.utah.edu

Research Topic: Climate control on microbial community dynamics: the role of soil oxygen in carbon and nitrogen biogeochemistry.


Price, Heather
University of Washington
Department of Chemistry
UW, Box 351700
Seattle, WA 98125-1700
Phone: 206-365-1593
Email: hprice@u.washington.edu
Daniel Jaffe
University of Washington
Department of Chemistry
UW, Box 351700
Seattle, WA 98125-1700
Phone: 425-352-5357
Email: djaffe@u.washington.edu
Paul Doskey
Environmental Research Division, Bldg. 203
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-7662
Fax: 630-252-5498
Email: paul_doskey@qmgate.anl.gov

Research Topic: Determination of Asian air pollution sources, seasonality, and chemical processing during transport to the Northwest continental United States.


Schoennagel, Tania
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Botany Department
430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608/262-2791
Email: tschoenn@students.wic.edu
Monica G. Turner
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Zoology
430 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608/262-2592
Email: mgt@macc.wisc.edu
Virginia H. Dale
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
PO Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6038
Phone: 865-576-8043
dalevh@ornl.gov

Research Topic: Effects of Climatically Altered Fire Regimes on Successional Patterns and Carbon Storage.


Wardell, Lois Jean
New Mexico Tech
Earth & Environmental Science
Geochemistry
Socorro, NM 87801
Phone: 505-835-5994
Email: wardell@nmt.edu
Philip Kyle
New Mexico Tech
Earth & Environmental Science
Socorro, NM 87801
Phone: 505/837-5995
Email: kyle@nmt.edu
Joyce E. Penner
Dept. of Atmoshperic, Oceanic, and Space Sciences
University of Michigan
2455 Hayward, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2143
Phone: 734-936-0519
Fax: 734-764-5137
Email: penner@umich.edu

Research Topic: Volcanic Carbon Dioxide and Trace Metal Emissions: Their Significance to the Global Climate.


Werner, Cynthia
The Pennsylvania State University
Department of Geological Sciences
540 Deike Bldg.
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-8055
Email: werner@geosc.psu.edu
Dr. Susan L. Brantley
The Pennsylvania State University
Department of Geological Sciences
540 Deike Bldg.
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-1395
Email: brantley@geosc.psu.edu

Dr. John Wyngaard
Meteorology Department
The Pennsylvania State University
Phone: 814-863-7714
Email: wyngaard@ems.psu.edu

Dr. Kenneth J. Davis
Department of Meteorology
Penn State University
Phone: 814-863-8601
Email: davis@essc.psu.edu

Research Topic: The Application of Eddy Correlation to Measure CO2 Fluxes in Geothermal Regions.


Winiecki, Shelby
University of Chicago
Department of Geophysical Sciences
5734 s. Ellis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1434
Email: Shelby@midway.uchicago.edu
Dr. John Frederick
University of Chicago
Department of Geophysical Sciences
5734 s. Ellis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1434
Phone: 773-702-3237
Email: Frederic@uchicago.edu
Dr. William M. Porch
MS D407
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
Phone: 505-667-0971
Fax: 505-667-9122
Email: wporch@lanl.gov

Research Topic: Solar Irradiance in the UV-B Region as Influenced by Ozone and Particulate Abundances in an Urban Atmosphere.


 
 

The Global Change Education Program is funded by the
U.S. Department of Energy

Office of Biological and Environmental Research