2000 GCEP - SURE Student/Mentor Assignments
SURE Students

DOE Mentors

Bookter, Andy
Western Washington University
Chemistry Department
Bellingham, WA 98225

Phone: 360-650-3070
Email: bookter@hotmail.com

Major: BS Chemistry

Tica Novakov
Env. Energy Technologies Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
One Cyclotron Road
Berkeley, CA 94720

Phone: 510-486-5319
Fax: 510-486-4733
Email: tnovakov@bnl.gov

Byrd, Christopher
Arizona State University
Plant Biology Dept.
Tempe, AZ 85287

Phone: 480-965-4482
Email: ethnobotany@hushmail.com

Major: Ecology/Environmental Science

Jeff Klopatek
Arizona State University
Plant Biology
LSE – C729
Tempe, AZ

Phone: 480-965-4685
Email: klopatek@asu.edu

Case, Anne
University of Toledo
Chemistry Department
Toledo, OH 43606

Phone:
Email: atcase_@hotmail.com

Major: Chemistry

Yin-Nan Lee, Ph. D.
Environmental Chemistry Division
Bldg. 815E
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Upton, NY 11973

Phone: 516-344-3294
Fax: 516-344-2887
Email: ynlee@bnl.gov

Cordero-Hernandez, Nieza
University of Puerto Rico
Mayaguez Campus
Mayaguez, PR 00680

Phone: 787-832-4020
Email: neiza_h@hotmail.com

Major: Chemistry

Nancy A. Marley
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL  60439

Phone: 630-252-5014
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: namarley@anl.gov

Drake, Allison
Hamilton University
Geology Department
Clinton, NY 13323

Phone:
Email: adrake@hamilton.edu

Major: Geology

William J. Shaw
Pacific Northwest National Lab – Battelle
P.O. Box 999, MS K9-30
Richland, WA 99352

Phone: 509-372-6140
Fax: 509-372-6168
Email: will.shaw@pnl.gov

Fruit, Christy
Pennsylvania State University
Energy and GeoEnvironmental Dept.
University Park, PA 16802

Phone: 814-865-3437
Email: klf160@psu.edu

Major: GeoEnvironmental Engineering and Liberal Studies

Gregg Marland
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
PO Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6038

Phone: 865-241-4850
Email: marlandgh@ornl.gov

Hunter, Kimberly
Ball State University
Biology Department
Muncie, IN 47305

Phone: 765-285-8820
Email: kamhunter@hotmail.com

Major: Biology-Botany option

Peter Curtis
Ohio State University
Evolution, Ecology & Org
1735 Nel Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Phone: 614-292-0832
Email: pcurtis@postbox.acs.ohio-state.edu

 

Iorio, John
Bucknell University
Geology Department
Lewisburg, PA 17837

Phone: 570-577-1382
Email: iorio@bucknell.edu

Major: B.S. Geology

Sasha Madronich
Atmospheric Chemistry Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P. O. Box 3000
Boulder, Colorado 80307

Phone: 303-497-1430
Fax: 303-497-1400
Email: sasha@ucar.edu

Lunch, Claire
University of Chicago
Mathematics Department
Chicago, IL 60637

Phone: 773-702-7328
Email: cklunch@midway.uchicago.edu

Major: Mathematics

Barbara J. Bond
Assistant Professor
Department of Forest Science
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR 97331-5752

Phone: 541-737-6110
Fax: 541-737-1393
Email: Barbara.Bond@orst.edu
Web page: http://www.fls.orst.edu/~bond
Web page: http://www.fls.orst.edu/oldtree/index.htm

Martinez-Aviles, Monica
University of Puerto Rico
Rio Piedras Campus
Rio Piedras, PR 00919

Phone: 787-764-0000
Email: monicaytomas@hotmail.com

Major: Chemistry

Nancy A. Marley
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone: 630-252-5014
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: namarley@anl.gov

McIlmoil, Rory
Furman University
Earth & Environmental Science Department
Greenville, SC 29613

Phone: 864-294-2000
Email: rory.mcilmoil@furman.edu

Tom Hinckley
Ecosystem Sciences, College of Forest Resources
Box 352100, University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195

Phone 206-543-1588
Fax 206-543-3254
Email: hinckley@u.washington.edu

Peters, Mathew
Pennsylvania State University
School of Forest Resources Dept.
State College, PA 16803

Phone: 814-865-4237
Email: mp_nittany@yahoo.com

Major: Wildlife and Fisheries Science

Anthony King
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
P.O. Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6422

Phone: 865-576-3436
Email: kingaw@ornl.gov

 

Mosher, Mike
University of Minnesota Institute of Technology
Mechanical Engineering Dept.
Minneapolis, MN 554455

Phone: 612-625-0705
Email: mosh0030@tc.umn.edu

Major: Mechanical Engineering

Marvin Wesely
Agronne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone: 630-252-5178
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: wesely@anl.gov

Ramirez, Javier
University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
Arts and Sciences Dept.
Mayaguez, PR 00680

Phone: 787-265-3849
Email: javiboy@hotmail.com

Major: Chemistry

William M. Porch
MS D407
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545

Phone: 505-667-0971
Fax: 505-667-9122
Email: wporch@lanl.gov

Ravelo, Rose
Binghamton University (SUNY)
Harpur College of Arts and Science Dept.
Binghamton, NY 13902-6001

Phone:
Email: rose_ravelo@excite.com

Major: Chemistry

Jeffrey S. Gaffney
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 203
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone: 630-252-5178
Fax: 630-252-7415
Email: gaffney@anl.gov

Steadham, Tiffany
Oral Roberts University
Engineering Dept.
Tulsa, OK 74171

Phone: 918-495-6939
Email: ste12301@stu.oru.edu

Major: Bioengineering

Mark A. Miller
DAS-Bldg. 490d
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Phone 613-344-2958
Email: miller@bnl.gov

Stewart, Jebb
University of Utah
Meteorology Dept.
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0110

Phone: 801-581-6137
Email: jqs@xmission.com

Major: Meteorology

Dr. C. David Whiteman
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
Richland, WA 99352

Phone: 509-372-6147
Fax: 509-372-6168
Email: Dave.Whiteman@pnl.gov
Web page: http://www.pnl.gov/atmos_sciences/Cdw/

Wade-Murphy, Jessica
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL 60637

Phone:
Email: j_wade_m@excite.com

Major: undeclared

Kyaw Tha Paw U
Atmospheric Sciences and Biometeorology
University of California
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8627

Phone: 530-752-1510 or -1406
Fax: 530-752-1552
Email: ktpawu@ucdavis.edu

Wooten, Catherine
Cornell University
Geology Dept.
Ithaca, NY 14853

Phone: 607-255-5267
Email: clw17@cornell.edu

Major: Science of Earth Systems

Tom Hinckley
Ecosystem Sciences, College of Forest Resources
Box 352100, University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195

Phone 206-543-1588
Fax 206-543-3254
Email: hinckley@u.washington.edu

SURE Renewal Students  

Bialk, Heidi
Bemidji State University
Center for Environmental Studies
Bemedji, MN 56601

Phone: 218-755-3654
Email: Hbialk@vax1bemedji.msus.edu

Major: Environmental Science and Chemistry

Paul Doskey
Environmental Research Division, Bldg. 203
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone: 630-252-7662
Fax: 630-252-5498
Email: paul_doskey@qmgate.anl.gov

Dreyfus, Gabrielle
Harvard University
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Cambridge, MA 02138

Phone: 617/496-6995
Email: gdreyfus@fas.harvard.edu

Major: Atmospheres and Oceans

Allen H. Goldstein, Assistant Professor
University of California at Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy, & Management
151 Hilgard Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110

Phone: 510-643-2451 (office)
Phone: 510-643-2460 (lab)
Fax: 510-643-5098
Email: ahg@nature.berkeley.edu

Hart, Heather
Western Washington University
Chemistry Dept.
Bellingham, WA 98225

Phone: 360-650-3070
Email: harth@cc.wwu.edu

Major: Biochemistry

R. Michael Miller
Terrestial Carbon Studies and Ecology
Argonne National Laboratory
Environmental Research Division
9700 South Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439

Phone: 630-252-3395
Fax: 630-252-8895
Email: rmmiler@anl.gov

Jenkins, Marissa
Waynesburg College
Biology Dept.
Waynesburg, PA 15370

Phone: 724-852-3379
Email: dmb1212@hotmail.com

Major: Environmental Science

Nelson T. Edwards
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
P.O. Box 2008, MS6422
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6422

Phone: 423-576-4868
Fax: 423-576-9938
Email: edwardsnt@ornl.gov

Nguyen, Anthony
University of Oklahoma
School of Meteorology
College of Geosciences
Norman, OK 73019

Phone: 405/325-5661
Email: straysheep@ou.edu

Major: Meteorology

Rangasayi N. Halthore (Rang'shai)
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Bldg. 815E, Rutherford Drive
Dept. of Applied Science
Upton, NY 11973-5000

Phone: 516-344-7920
Fax: 516-344-2887
Email: halthore@bnl.gov
Webpage: http://www.ecd.bnl.gov/~halthore

Randles, Cynthia
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary
Cambridge, MA 02142

Phone: 617-253-2127
Email: cynema@att.net

Major: Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary
Sciences: Oceans and Atmospheres

Douglas R. Worsnop
Aerodyne Research, Inc.
45 Manning Road
Billerica, MA 01821

Phone: 978-663-9500 ext. 225
Fax: 978-663-4918
email: worsnop@aerodyne.com

Winiecki, Shelby
Marquette University
Mathematics Dept.
Milwaukee, WI 53233

Phone: 414-291-4097
Email: shelbywiniecki@hotmail.com

Major: Mathematics

William M. Porch
MS D407
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545

Phone: 505-667-0971
Fax: 505-667-9122
Email: wporch@lanl.gov

 
 

The Global Change Education Program is funded by the
U.S. Department of Energy

Office of Biological and Environmental Research